The Castle and Manor House Liptovský Hrádok
The castle and manor house Liptovský Hrádok is built by the river Bela in the village Liptovský Hrádok in the north of Slovakia. Although there are several versions of the story of its origin. One thing is certain, the first mention of the castle dates back to 1341.
The then head of the Zvolen region had the castle built at the beginning of the 14th century. At that time it was one of the military buildings guarding an important trade route along the river Vah.
One of the legends says that the castle Liptovský Hrádok was connected by underground corridors with nearby fortifications in Liptovský Ján and even with Liptovský Castle. Later it became the seat of the castle manor and was owned by the kings of Hungary until the mid-15th century.
The owners, among them the noble families of Zápoľský, Thurzo, Ballas and others, received it as a gift. The castle was badly damaged during the rebellion at the turn of the 17th and 18 century.
The ruins of the Hrádok Castle, together with the adjacent manor house, form the dominant of Liptovský Hrádok and the picturesque part of Upper Liptov. The ruins of the castle and the slowly decaying mansion have been employed since the 1930s by the minds of people who were not indifferent to the fate of the monuments in Liptov.
At present, the castle in Liptovsky Hradok is undergoing extensive reconstruction. After which the castle offers stylish accommodation, catering and unconventional conference rooms.
Since August 2010, the castle and the manor house are open to the public. A tour of the courtyard and the interior of the mansion with commentary. As well as an audio-visual presentation of the history, reconstruction and premises in its current form.